Arctic Circle event

The largest international gathering on the Arctic


The Arctic Circle Assembly will take place at Reykjavík’s Harpa Conference Center at the end of this month, from October 31st to November 2nd. Over 1400 participants from 34 countries will attend the Assembly, which will include a diverse array of sessions about the future of the Arctic.

The Arctic Circle was founded last year at the initiative of the President of Iceland Ólafur Ragnar Grímsson, former Prime Minister of Greenland Kuupik Kleist, and Alaska Dispatch Publisher Alice Rogoff.

The first Assembly of the Arctic Circle was held last autumn in Reykjavík, and became the largest international gathering on the Arctic. From now on, the Assemblies will be held every October in Iceland, and in addition, special Arctic Circle Forums will be held in other countries, three of which are already being planned for next year in the United States, Greenland, and Singapore.


Leaders from many countries in the Arctic, in Europe, and Asia will attend the Assembly in October, including ministers, members of parliament, government officials as well as hundreds of scientists, specialists, and leaders in business and environmental affairs.
Among the speakers at this year’s Assembly will be Sauli Niinistö, President of Finland; Angela Merkel, Chancellor of Germany; Philip Hammond, Foreign Minister of the United Kingdom; Admiral Robert Papp and John Kerry of the State Department of the United States; Michel Rocard, former Prime Minister of France; Sigmundur Davíð Gunnlaugsson, Prime Minister of Iceland; Bjarni Benediktsson, Minister of Finance of Iceland; and Einar K. Guðfinnsson, Speaker of the Parliament of Iceland.

Chancellor Merkel’s and Minister Hammond’s speeches will be presented as video messages. Delegations from the governments of Japan, France, the United Kingdom, and Finland will present their policies on the Arctic, as well as plans for scientific research and business activities. Representatives of the American companies Google and Planet Labs will speak on the potential contributions of IT and new satellite systems to the knowledge of nature in the Arctic. The world-renowned oceanographer Sylvia Earle will be among the speakers in a discussion on the evolution of human activity in the Arctic Ocean.


Leaders of many international corporations will attend the Assembly and among the speakers will be Scott Minerd, Global Chief Investment Officer of Guggenheim Partners; Vice Presidents of the Chinese shipping company COSCO and the Korean shipbuilding company Daewoo; and representatives from the energy companies BP and Nunaoil.

In addition to the plenary sessions at the Arctic Circle Assembly, there will be more than 50 breakout sessions organized by universities, research institutions, environmental organizations, companies, governments, and other parties interested in the Arctic.

Among the topics discussed at the Assembly will be the melting of Arctic sea ice, global warming, security in the Arctic, search and rescue, business development with regards to new shipping routes in the Arctic, scientific cooperation and research, issues and rights of indigenous peoples, the usage of clean energy and oil reserves, fishing and the protection of the ocean, international polar law, the progress of the Arctic Council, and the preparations of the United States for its upcoming chairmanship of the Arctic Council. During the Assembly there will be numerous opportunities for press and media representatives to interview participants in the AC as well as report on the extensive discussions taking place in plenary and breakout sessions.

Marorka is committed to the environmental aspect of emission control and monitoring in the Arctic and is taking part and in bringing together institutes and companies from both public and private sector in Iceland to establish OCEANA, ICELANDIC CENTER OF EXCELLENCE: CUTTING EMISSIONS IN ARCTIC WATERS.

The signing ceremony will take place in Ríma A on the first level at Harpa at 17.00 on the 31. October 2014.

Ellý Katrín Guðmundsdóttir, City Secretary, City of Reykjavík.
Sigurður Ingi Jóhannsson, Minister for the Environment and Natural Resources, Iceland.
Dagur B. Eggertsson, Mayor of Reykjavík.
Jón Ágúst Þorsteinsson, Chairman of Marorka and ARK Technology.
Ágústa Loftsdóttir, Scientist, Natural Energy Authority


The program of the Arctic Circle Assembly, as well as further information on the Arctic Circle, can be found on the website 

Source: Arctic Circle Press Release, 14.10.2014